What we’re reading in May 2022 (and you should be too!)

Whether you're interested in a YA love story or a grief-healing journey, we've got you covered. Find your next read in this varied list of new book releases.
by JK ABUAH May 25, 2022

We’re bringing you another list of books we think you’ll love, that have either just been released or are soon to hit the stores. This list is just a sample of the many books being published by Black authors, so we recommend you go out and find more top picks after you get through these. From a coming-of-age story about family and grief to a music-fueled love story, get lost in one (or all) of these new novels.

Patience is a Subtle Thief by Abi Ishola-Ayodeji
Published by Harpervia on May 3
“Hope and circumstance define a young woman’s life in this heartbreaking tale of lost innocence, set in politically volatile 1990s Nigeria, from an exciting and fresh voice in global literature.”

Credit: Brittle Paper

How to Live Without You by Sarah Everett
Published by Clarion Books on May 17
“In this heart-wrenching, coming-of-age story about family, grief, and second chances, seventeen-year-old Emmy returns home for the summer to uncover the truth behind her sister Rose’s disappearance—only to learn that Rose had many secrets, ones that have Emmy questioning herself and the sister Emmy thought she knew.”

Credit: Goodreads

You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty by Akwaeke Emezi
Published by Atria Books on May 24
“New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist Akwaeke Emezi (they/them) reimagines the love story in this fresh and seductive novel about a young woman seeking joy while healing from loss.”

Credit: Simon & Schuster

Love Radio by Ebony LaDelle
Due to be published by Simon Schuster on May 31
Clear your TBR pile for this slick, heart-melting romance for fans of Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon. Prince Jones is passionate about music and romance, dishing out relationship advice on his Love Radio show. But his own love life is looking kind of quiet… Until he meets Dani Ford. Dani isn’t checking for anybody. She’s focused on her plan to move to New York City to become a famous author, and avoiding dealing with what happened at that party a few months ago. When the two meet, sparks fly – but Dani’s not looking to get derailed. So she gives Prince just three dates to convince her that he’s worth falling for… Sometimes the best love story is the one you write yourself.”

Credit: Simon & Schuster

On Rotation by Shirlene Obuobi
Due to be published by Avon Books on June 21
For fans of Grey’s Anatomy and Seven Days in June, this dazzling debut novel by Shirlene Obuobi explores that time in your life when you must decide what you want, how to get it, and who you are, all while navigating love, friendship, and the realization that the path you’re traveling is going to be a bumpy ride.

Credit: Quercus Books

The Accidental Pinup by Danielle Jackson
Published by Berkley on July 19

Photographer Cassie Harris loves her job—her company Buxom Boudoir makes people look beautiful and feel empowered with her modern twist on classic pinup photography. Cassie’s best friend, Dana, is about to launch her own dangerously dreamy lingerie line and wants Cassie to shoot and direct the career-changing national campaign. But company politics and Dana’s complicated pregnancy interfere, and Cassie finds herself—a proud plus size Black woman—not behind the camera but in front of it.

Though she’s never modeled herself, Cassie’s pretty sure she can handle the sheer underwear and caution tape bralettes. She’s not sure she can work so intimately with the chosen photographer, her long-time competitor in the Chicago photography scene, Reid Montgomery. Their chemistry is undeniable on set, however, and feelings can develop faster than film…

Credit: Goodreads

Check out the GUAP Arts & Culture section, to discover new art, film, and creative individuals.